Deadpool’s Tim Miller Wants R-Rated X-Force

2220534-uxf.png

After the incredibly surprising success of 20th Century Fox’s Deadpool, people have slowly been coming to the realization that more Superhero films could gain a lot by receiving an R-Rating, since that would open up so many more storylines and a window of opportunities. One of the films that could benefit the most from this the most is Fox’s potential X-Men spin off film, X-Force. 

The X-Force was always the X-Men’s answer to the darker, more violent and dangerous missions that they didn’t partake in, so you can only imagine how a PG-13 rating would hold most of that content back. One person who thinks the film could definitely use an R-Rating is Deadpool director, Tim Miller.

While speaking with Collider, Miller made these statements:

“I’ll just say I’d like it to be an R-rated movie, but I’ve always been very realistic. We’re not making fine art here. This is commerce. So if for some reason there was a story that needed to be bigger and needed to be at a certain budget, and it didn’t warrant an R-rated budget, although it’s harder to make that argument now after Deadpool, but let’s say we were saying it before Deadpool came out; I understand that. I’m not one of those directors who goes ‘I want it because I want it!’ and ‘It should be because I think it should be!’ There’s economics at work here, and I would like it to be R-rated.

And I know there was some talk around Hollywood, and James Gunn talked about it, and I agree very much with what he said. I think Deadpool worked because of what it was. I think Deadpool worked because it was funny. I think Deadpool worked because it didn’t take itself seriously. That’s why it worked as an R-rated film. I’m not sure any superhero movie will work as an R-rated film. I’m not sure some members of the public are going to be happy with the blood and gore if it’s not balanced with humor and the other stuff.”

Psylocke-Deadpool-Wolverine-Archangle-Uncanny-X-Force

So while Miller would love to see X-Force receive an R-Rating, they would have to balance it out in a way that moviegoers wouldn’t be turned off by the (almost guaranteed) excessive amounts of blood and gore they would be viewing.

We’re just going to have to wait and see if they even move forward with the movie, and hope that if they do, they make it work with an R-Rating.

Deadpool will be available for DVD and Blu-ray on May 10th, 2016.

No official release date for X-Force yet.

Leave a Reply

